WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Black Headed Gull…

…with a funny shaped head. It looked as though it had a little hat on. None of the others looked like this. Also it didn’t join all the other birds when. man threw lots of breadcrumbs down. It just sat on top of the ice cream tugboat and looked around. We were on a bench eating Busy Lizzie chips :-b
We had gone into town to ask about a better TV aerial for the boat as we get a lot of interference and only 4 channels. The man in Harry Garlick’s said we’d be wasting our money as the signal round here is so poor. I liked his honesty.
I decided to go back to the house on the bus as I had a cycle helmet to give the refugees in Gargrave and I forgot to drop it in the the host’s house on Monday. I was home for a couple of hours so had a shower and a cuppa and phoned Sue for a chat.
I got the bus to Gargrave and found Debbie’s house easily and also met the Ukrainian refugees - 2 women, each with a 17 year old boy. They will be hosted with two families. They looked happy to be here and one mum went to have a go on the bike with her new helmet. 
I tried to phone Frank as planned to get him to collect me but would he answer? No, so I started walking along the canal and on the way phoned our boat neighbour Jackie and she said - Oh he’s outside chatting to Ted and Ian. He was double quick coming to get me! He’s forgiven.
I was contacted on messenger by a young Ukrainian couple looking for sponsors. They really wanted to go to Surrey where they have friends but it didn’t work out so they said they would go anywhere.
They are from Lviv but are now in Poland. We’ll see how it works out. I’ll have to contact the authorities tomorrow and we’ll need a homecheck.
It’s been cold and breezy today - no heatwave here!

193/365
Wretched War!

War is such a wretched thing
tearing families apart
towns and cities lie derelict
ripping out their heart
and the perpetrators
what do they know or care
about the lives they’ve ruined
and nobody is spared.
When the war is over
what will they have gained
a land with nothing left except
ground that is blood stained.

Thanks for all the lovely comments, stars and hearts of late. Much appreciated. 
Goodnight :-)X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.