WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Bus Stop

This is the bus stop in Gargrave - the next village to us. I think it’s a pretty one.
Gargrave is a lovely little place with a river running through the middle and the canal above the village. (Extras)
A busy day today. I had a little lie in till 8.30 and was sitting watching the news still in my jim-jams, hair not yet brushed when Frank - who had just set off with Bella - came back with Bob our next door neighbour at the house and his nephew (an oldish nephew) and brought them in to show them the boat! They had been walking along the tow path. Frank had said Oh Lizzie won’t mind….. Haha! Lizzie did mind!
Then it was shopping at Morrison’s where I also bought some gorgeous Geraniums and some big Begonia’s (not the bedding type).
The rest of the day was spent online trying to find out about the refugee process - I’m not good at bureaucracy. I was also messaging the girl - Tonya and she said they had applied before but the previous sponsors didn’t pass the home check - not sure if we will!
Anyway, we arranged to video call this evening but for that I wanted to be at home to get a better signal.
It was lovely to see and speak to them, her husband is called Yurii. They seem a lovely, positive young couple - in their 30’s. Just now they are with friends in Poland temporarily. She said there have been Russian Jets flying over Poland and thinks they will be next.
I have a friend in our village who knows all the ins and out’s of hosting as she has worked with Syrian refugees. She has contacted people she knows at North Yorkshire County Council to let them know I’ll be in touch. 

Because of this I have only done 3 lines of my poem today but it is whirling around in my head.

Goodnight ;-) X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.