From Our Wild Acre: Celebrating a Full Buck Moon

Well, among the strange news of summer, there is this: we have a small herd of deer staying under our deck now. It started with a single deer last summer, who showed up on only the hottest days. Then it was two, a lanky young pair. Now, it is several. We have a HERD! (And he told two friends. And SHE told two friends. And THEY told two friends . . . . )

My husband went outside to put out water in the yard. He says this is the score under the deck: one young buck with little velvet antlers, his sister a young doe, and then their mom the older doe, managing two young fawns who JUST WILL NOT BEHAVE! And that's "the herd!"

This is a picture of the young buck with adorable little velvet antlers. I'd been trying to get a decent photo of him for several days, and then he showed up and posed for me on the morning of the night of the full buck moon! (Unfortunately, it clouded over here and I missed the supermoon show that occurred on this night, which is par for the course, where huge celestial events are concerned.)

That is not the only wild news going on around here. I totally forgot to tell you about the BATS!!! The bats! We have three bats! I walked down the drive way the other night to look at that big, bad moon rising. And three bats followed me down, like they were my bat-squadron! "The mistress is out walking tonight! We must protect the mistress!!!"

And that's how things are going right here in our one wild acre. How are things where YOU are? As my soundtrack song, here is Cat Stevens, with Wild World.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.