A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Cardinal Rule

I was quite pleased when the Mrs. flew in because it’s the only shot I got before she flew away. Lucky me! • We have another opportunity for some rain this afternoon and evening. The last time I said this we got zilch, nada, nothing! The ground is so dry. At least half of our lawn has turned a shade of brown and it’s only mid-July. I’ve had to water plants daily in the veggie garden, and certainly anything in a pot, to keep everything growing. Fingers Crossed • We harvested a yellow squash and another cucumber today; MrsP mowed and weed-whacked the grass around our walkway while I tied up a few flowers that needed extra support, plus dead-headed. A typical day around the homestead • With so much summer squash on hand I am going to make a casserole for dinner tonight. It’s easy and tasty. If you’re curious: slice the squash and cover with salted water. Bring to a boil and simmer until tender. Drain well. Place in casserole dish and mash with a fork. Add butter and seasonings to your liking. Cover with shredded cheese, amount to your liking. Cover and bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes. I like mixing zucchini and yellow squash, and sometimes add onions and or peppers. Be creative! • Eat Your Veggies - it’s a Cardinal Rule :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.