Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

An Extra-Ordinary Story of Human Kindness

Warning! Very, very, wordy ... but definitely worth reading if you have time!

Today could have been a disaster, but thanks to multiple acts of kindness it turned out to be amazing!

I set out early to get my fill of tall trees, greenery and beautiful flowers in the park. I only had one errand to do a bit further downtown. All is well so far! I walked up to the bus stop to go home, sat on a bench in the shade, took my cool water out of the bag in my turquoise bottle to drink. At the same time, I took out my bus card!

The bus arrived and stopped ahead of the bus stop, so I dashed to catch it, holding my shopping bag and with my camera bag slung across my front. I bought my ticket (on the bus) and wanted to put it into my backpack, BUT, no backpack! Oh no! I must have left it on the bench. I got off the bus at the first stop, jogged back to where I had been sitting, but NO BAG!

Maybe I left it on the bus? I took the first bus, asked the friendly young driver what to do! He phoned the bus central to announce the loss. 

Fortunately, I had my mobile phone, my home keys and the bus ticket! I was able to get into my apartment and the landline was flashing! It was the police! An extremely kind lady had seen my bag and taken it to the nearest police station. She had wanted no reward and didn't leave her name, but said she did it out of good karma!  WOW!
Back into town on yet another bus, I went to the police station and every single thing was intact: money and cards! Isn't that wonderful?  When I returned back home, by chance, I had the same bus driver and thanked him for his kindness.  I celebrated by buying a Coreopsis plant for my balcony, but especially to remember the kind lady and helpful bus driver!
I shall definitely be paying it forward in honour of honest and kind people!

Collage: -
- the lost backpack, my wallet, my water bottle: lost and found.
- my mobile phone and house-keys which I had luckily put into my camera bag
- waterlily in the park
-Coreopsis flowers which I planted immediately. A reminder of kindness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.