Skipper

It was a nice sunny morning, so I drove to the Country Park with my long (and heavy) lens to photograph butterflies. This is a skipper (I hope, but don't ask me what type). There were lots of different butterflies around, but I only saw one white admiral and didn't get a good shot. I've included a collage of some of my other photos as an Extra. I've also done lots of weeding, pruning, dead heading, and watering of tubs (with a watering can, not hose). I also had someone round to give me a quote for making and fitting a new gate, the last one didn't even last 4 years, it completely warped!

Day 848 / Day 139 of no Legal Covid Requirements in England (for my record only)
The weekly ONS infection survey of private households up to 6th July showed rates up 29% from the previous report with 1 in 18 with the virus across the UK. There's an estimated 1 in 19 with the virus in England (up); 1 in 16 in Scotland (up); 1 in 17 in Wales (up) and 1 in 17 in NI (up). The JCVI has finally updated its advice and lowered the age group eligible for an autumn booster to over 50s (was over 65s). It will also be offered to health and social care staff; carers over 16; those over 5 whose health puts them at greater risk including pregnant women; those over 5 who share a house with someone with a weakened immune system. The flu vaccine will also be offered to over 50s; high risk groups; and school children up to Year 9 in secondary school. Top symptoms that could be Covid are now sore throat or a cough, other common symptoms include headache and blocked nose. A new Covid variant, BA.2.75 is causing concern amongst virologists as it's highly contagious and escaping immunity from vaccines and previous infections. The variant nicknamed Centaurus, is spreading quickly across India and has been detected in c10 other countries including the UK. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.