If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Purple Toadflax ( Linaria purpurea )

Earlier this month I blipped Pink Purple Toadflax.  I am blipping it again.  Normally both the pink version and the purple one grow as a single stem with the flowers at the top.  As can be seen, this one, which first appeared this year, has a distinctly different structure.

In the morning I was again crawling around the loft of the Late "mate's" business premises.  The other day I was up there looking for what I was assured would be a swarm of bees.  Since then I have been able to get a close look and they were wasps.

Every other wasp's nest I have dealt with had been attached by a single fairly thin attachment.  This one was stuck to the beam.  I couldn't use my preferred method of enclosing it in a plastic bag and detaching, it before dropping it into the deep freeze.  So I will leave it to the professionals to deal with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.