Furry Bee

A beautiful day; not too hot, and a pleasant breeze. 
I found this lovely furry bee on a scabious flower in my garden early this morning. She was still quite drowsy and an obliging  subject.

This evening was the first night of the BBC Proms. It was Verdi's Requiem and we watched it on the television..Sadly the tenor Freddie de Tommaso had had to withdraw, due to having Covid. But, his replacement, at just 48 hours notice, David Junghoon  Kim, proved  an excellent substitute. The other soloists: Kihwan Sim, Jennifer Johnston and  Masabane Cecilia Rangwanasha, were also wonderful.    
The first time I ever attended a Proms concert  was in 1978, on the first Night, and on that occasion it was Verdi's Requiem, too, conducted by a very young Sir Andrew Davies. I remember so much about that  night, sitting in a box, and  having a meal out afterwards. It was a treat from my employer, (and I was an impressionable 19 year old!) although  the actual music meant a lot more to me, tonight, than it did back then... .  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.