Wildfire Smouldering

It’s been a while since I walked up to the ranges, but feeling at a loose end, and needing to post an incorrectly delivered package, I headed up there today with camera hoping for some macro studies for today’s Flower Friday challenge.

All good plans …

Package safely delivered, I headed into wooded area next to the range perimeter path really for my first shot … oops … no battery in camera.  Oh well, I still had my iPhone.

Out on the main path I was then shocked by evidence of a widespread heathland fire. I knew nothing of this, but a quick Google search verified that a large wildfire had taken hold last week, with firefighters on the scene for a couple of days. I now vaguely recall a smell of smoke, but had put it down to a garden bonfire locally.  

A similar fire 15years or so ago had caused havoc locally, with risk to the houses and housing estates next to the ranges. Work was done following that to effectively create a firebreak between the public paths and the razor wire fence cordoning of the ranges, which are used for MOD live fire training and hence not accessible by the public.  This had clearly done its job with a distinct line where the fire had reached the break, and very little or no damage beyond to the fence and public paths.

A little further round the perimeter I saw that even now, over a week later, there are still areas of smouldering fire. It is sad to see the destruction, but know that Mother Nature will soon get to work, and in a few years the range will be back to its heathland glory and once again the “pop pop pop” of gunfire will be heard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.