Another day gone . . .

When a fellow blipper blips from the very place that you went for your 25th wedding anniversary celebration the is a tendency to find out exactly when you went.  If I was to admit to getting married in 1972, and we did our 25th Anniversary Southern Ireland tour in August 2000 you can see some silliness straight away.
 
No, the real silliness is spending the morning finding the old VHS video that I made of the trip, followed by scraping the dust of the video recorder to take a look.  Well that wasted most of the morning.
 
BUT - something great has come from all of this.  Our main teli doesn’t have a scart input, and HDMI wasn’t invented when we bought our video recorder, so we would not be able to watch the video in the comfort of the living room . . .
 
Then I remembered scart sockets in the back of our satellite box (that’s pretty old too).  AND the sat box has a built in Blu-ray / DVD recorder.  The upshot of this is that I have found out that I can record our old family VHS tapes onto the sat box, then record them onto Blu-ray / DVD, and we have lots of them that we would like to watch.  This major project had been earmarked for transferring the videos via the pooter, and has hence gathered a LOT of dust (over the years).  So that was the rest of the day . . .
 
These old tapes were recorded on a ‘Sony Handycam Video 8’ camcorder, so the picture quality is not that good, especially on screens many times bigger than envisaged back at the turn of the century, and I could really have used a mic wind muff on the Burren, but I’m quite pleased with my editing even if the editing program left some of the clips with a slight jerk in the sound at some scene changes.  I wonder what the other tapes are like.
 
 
Now today’s silliness was to have been ‘harvest home’, see extra.  In fairness I’m told that black currants are not supposed to produce fruit in the first year, so this mouthful should be considered.
 

To wind up the silliness, the blip shows our first B&B in Ireland.  This is how it looks eighteen years later.  I think I preferred it then when it was a working farmhouse. The landlady’s home made laverbread was to die for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.