CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Taurus is reluctant to continue being ridden

I drove to Gloucester for some food supplies from Asian emporia, as well as a long delayed regular eye test. The test went well with no need for newly updated glasses which surprised me.

On the way home I detoured to towards the River Severn south of Gloucester and crossed over the ship canal canal leading to Sharpness. This leads to an interesting area of land bounded by the river and canal which has few road access points so it tends to be a much quieter and low lying area of the county.

I wanted to pick up the organic milk and keffir from the farm where Jess's Ladies cows live. I pulled in beside the modern barn having passed a horse being ridden along the single track lane. As I went into the shed where the milk fore sale is stored in a fridge with an honesty box, the rider pulled into this yard where I parked my car.

I got chatting to the rider about where he had ridden from and it turned out he was related to the farm. He asked me to do him a favour by going into a wooden door behind him to save him from dismounting. I did as he asked and had to go right into the dairy to find someone whom he knew was in there producing the milk products., and when she came out he gave her a package.

I asked if I could take a picture as I liked the horse who was obviously rather tired and not wanting to move much further. The rider was very understanding and prepared to take him home further down the lane. He told me his name was Taurus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.