Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Hoping for monarchs to come by

I grow this butterfly weed every year but only had monarch caterpillars a couple of years ago.  I sowed extra seeds this year but with the heat it has been really struggling to grow.   But now the bigger stalks are blooming and the others seem to be moving up so hoping by August I will see some butterflies and caterpillars.

Still very hot here.  I wanted to walk my normal walk this morning but could not get motivated as it was already hot at 7am.   A couple of walks outside with the dog since I saw that skunk in the woods on the other side of the deer feeder.   Gypsy did not notice it but I had her by the collar just in case she wanted to take off after it.   Now I am afraid it is staying in our big brush and briar patch during the hot part of the day.  She sniffs around that but we also have a couple of rabbits that stay there.    Having to be extra vigilant when she goes out in the early morning.    Luckily, this was only the second time I have seen in close to my yard so maybe it wanders farther away.

   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.