Murky Mizzle

That's what this morning was...so odd in the middle of July. It was enough of a mist to really wet the plants, at least the petals and leaves. It sure didn't water anything. But it was a perfect day to work in the garden, which I did. My son texted early asking if I wanted the kids to visit today....I told him (after a week with Odette at golf camp) that I was "kidded out" and needed alone time!

The weeds that the long, cool, rainy spring brought on are just never-ending. Every time I turn around there are hundreds more. I'm making progress though and the gardens are starting to look pretty good.

This is just a standard old 'California Giant' Zinnia - I love zinnias and often grow them. This year none of the regular self-sowing annuals actually did...well they probably did self seed, but the rain probably drowned the seeds, or something. No sunflowers or cosmos or alyssum...so very odd. So I had plenty of room to grow these space hogs. I love this opening blossom...check out those feathery bits!

And just because I love dahlias, here's GoGo making another appearance in this morning's mizzle!

Hope you're all have a great weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.