Wool festival

After all the beautiful sunshine this morning it rained! My friends and I had a day out to include a visit the Wool festival. It was being held just along the road at Killhope Mine. The exhibitors were inside the yurts at the mine. They were very small and quite crowded as people didn't want to stand out in the rain. There was some beautiful wool there but we were quite disappointed that there was only half a dozen at most exhibiting. The wool was gorgeous but really expensive. I think the cheapest we saw was £22 for 100g. I'm sure worth every penny  but I can't wear wool next to my skin and would have cost at least £200 to knit a jumper for Barry! We were there less than an hour. We didn't waste the day! We went on for lunch at a local café at Nenthead we've been to several times before, and then across to Allenheads for coffee and cake. Quite an indulgent day, food wise anyway!
Val and I bought a kit to weave a scene, she bought Summer and I bought Autumn because I loved the orange colour! Val has started hers, photo in extra. She says it's fiddly so I'll need to start on a day when I have lots of patience! At the moment I feel that's in short supply while I'm still sorting out problems for my nephew and my mum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.