Life at 50mm

By Stevie378

Killing Time . . . . . .

Had to make 2 trips into Walsall town centre today - once in the morning, and then again late in the afternoon. This left me with 4 hours to kill inbetween. Luckily I had my trusty 5D and G12 with me, so I took a stroll to Park Lime Pits, which is just a 20 minute walk from the town centre.

The nature reserve was sunny and peaceful when I got there, and I spent a blissful couple of hours sitting beside the small pool, snapping away with the 5D, sunning myself and generally daydreaming. At one point a shrew ran between my feet, but I wasn't fast enough to get his portrait before he scuttled off into the undergrowth.

It wasn't all peace & quiet though - a brace of geese crash landed onto the pool, and proceeded to have a loud argument with the 2 geese that were already there. It sounded like a bunch of rag & bone men trying to out-bugle each other.
They were then joined by a woodpecker in a nearby tree - he sounded like he was using a pneumatic drill . . . . . . .
Eventually things quietened back down, and the loudest noise was that of the bumble bees, and that shrew, squeaking from the undergrowth. I think he was laughing at my attempts to photograph him . . . . .
All in all there are probably much worse ways to kill a few hours on a sunny April afternoon . . . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.