Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

City & County Building, Denver

It was hot, hot, HOT in Denver today!  Close to 40C (100F). I had ONE errand and it was in this building, thankfully not too far from the hotel. This is the City & County Building, with the Denver flag on display. It sits at the opposite side of Civic Center Park from the Colorado State Capitol building. At Christmas it’s beautifully lit up with multi-coloured lights. I’ve always loved the building, but even though I lived in Denver for years I don’t ever remember going inside!

My errand was quick (and mostly unsuccessful), but I did enjoy looking at an interesting piece of art in the lobby. See first Extra photo. It’s actually two pieces by Susan Cooper. The one on the left is called “Twentieth Century Perspectives: Beginning A Century”. The one on the right is ”Twentieth Century Perspectives: Ending A Millennium”. Featured are many iconic buildings and themes from Denver and Colorado. See the next Extra photo for the key - maybe you’re from Denver or lived there and perhaps you’ll recognise some of them!  

The third Extra photo is a collage of a few more scenes around the Civic Center Park, including the gold-topped dome of the Colorado State Capitol building. On Thursdays there are food trucks providing lunch in the park. I was surprised to see them doing a healthy business in such hot weather. Some of them looked interesting, but I needed Air Con desperately, so I took a few snaps and made a bee-line for my favourite breakfast/brunch place. And after a hearty midday meal it was straight back to the air-conditioned hotel room for me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.