HOW MANY BAPTIST MEN DOES IT TAKE...

...to lift a man/woman/person-hole cover to take a water meter reading?  The answer is 4 - two strong ones to do the job, because it requires a lot of muscle - one to stand and ponder how much the water bill might be - because he's an accountant - and one to oversee everyone else because he's retired and has nothing else to do!

We had a great service at Church, and although it was very hot, some of us in the Worship Group were able to sit by the emergency exit, which was wide open and there was a cooling breeze coming through.

After the service, we had coffee and biscuits and then as we were on our way out, I saw Peter holding two long rods - so being a clever clogs, I told him I knew what they were for.  However, he said I was wrong and they were hooks to get the wax out from Brian’s ears!  Ian chipped in and said that it would be easier to go to a Turkish barber and they did it with a candle and Mr. HCB suggested that it was to turn his brain around!  There were other suggestions too - all very silly - so this could have been a silly Saturday collage! 

Determined not to let them out of my sight, they proceeded to the front of the building, out on the pavement, where Peter and Brian man-handled the rods into the top of the man/woman/person hole cover and lifted it off - top left of my collage - a warm job in the hot sun!

The water meter was quite a way down - and I think at this point with both Peter and Brian down on their knees, it looked as if they were praying for divine guidance as to how best to read it.

With that Peter scrabbled his hands about in the hole cleaning off the said water meter, so that Brian, who had whipped out his phone could take a quick pic of it before Peter toppled right in!

We all noticed that there was quite a lot of water in the bottom of the hole and the last photograph in the collage shows Peter boasting about the length of the fish he found in the water - well that’s my interpretation of it!  

Meanwhile, Mr. HCB and Ian looked on - and made appropriate suggestions, all of which were completely ignored by the two men doing the very important job!

I asked all the men concerned if they would be happy for me to use the photographs for my Blip today and they all agreed.  Peter was anxious to know whether I could air-brush him in any way and get rid of the wrinkles and give him some more hair - but I think he looks just fine as he is!

They were all good sports so I am grateful to all four - I did say that today was usually Derelict Sunday, but I was happy to use four derelict men, if that was OK with them and they agreed!  Thanks guys!

“A keen sense of humor helps us 
     to overlook the unbecoming, 
          understand the unconventional, 
tolerate the unpleasant, 
     overcome the unexpected, 
          and outlast the unbearable.”
Billy Graham - American Evangelist
7/11/1928-21/2/2018

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.