monograph

Today's back blip is an odd one. I bought my current desktop system about 10 years ago, and this graphics card came in it. It's not quite the bottom of the range, but it's not for playing games. It has two problems, one it's getting old and the second is that it has a fan in it. Nvidia who made the chip in this card only provide drivers for so long then stop releasing updates, which can in Linux make things awkward. It also made an annoying noise when I did things that made it work.

I bought a new card, it is also near the bottom of the range, but it is three generations newer, so Nvidia will provide drivers for a few more years to come. It's more efficient and uses half the power, and also has no fan so is totally silent. It will also allow me to drive a larger screen in the future when I swap my two old monitors for one larger one.

Update: I forgot that today was a holiday in the US, so once my morning meeting had passed, I took the day off!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.