Broad-leaved Helleborine

I should have been leading a South Lincolnshire Flora Group meeting to Grimesthorpe Park today, but in view of the Met Office Amber weather warning, and the age of many potential attendees, I'd cancelled it at the start of the week.

Instead, I set out early to record my final quadrats at Collyweston Quarries NR. Fortunately I'd left the longest vegetation until last and this was relatively unaffected by the heat and drought. The Common Dodder was also unaffected - I have never seen so much, with some plants forming huge hillocks completely covered with flowers.

I'd finished by nine o'clock, but made a short visit to Bedford Purlieus on the way back to see if the Broad-leaved Helleborines were in flower. I found a couple of plants with open flowers but most need another week or so before they are looking their best. The butterflies are still plentiful, though fewer Dark-green Fritillaries than on my previous visit in June.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.