Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Heatwave day 2

The Night Watchman by Louise Erdrich. I finished this a while ago and didn't blip it at the time, but it's one I want to remember later, so here it is now. And I thought the cover was quite appropriate for today with the temperatures hotter than yesterday, both England and Scotland breaking previous records by more than a degree. Well, that's probably a fairly feeble excuse for this blip, but I've been in all day, mostly in front of a fan. I'm glad the heatwave is only lasting two days, might be driven to go out if it was any longer.

This book is one that I'll be doing with my literature class. It's about an American Indian Nation, set in the 1950s at a time when the Nation was under threat. It's fiction, but based on the life of the author's grandfather and on true events. I learned a lot about American Indians and it's a rattling good story too.

Finally up to date again with blips - this heatwave has been good for something, at least.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.