A Tropical Heatwave

Phew, what a scorcher! Today we had a record temperature for the UK of 40.3C at Coningsby in Lincolnshire, the first time the temperature in the UK has gone above 40C (104 Fahrenheit). The forecast didn't have Holt in the red warning area of temps above 35C, but the temp at the nearest official weather station at Weybourne reached 38C (100.4 Fahrenheit) and my weather station showed 37.5C (99.5 Fahrenheit) at 3:14pm. This followed record overnight temperatures in the UK too - I know it was 20.8C when I got up and opened doors and windows at 5:45am. I had an amble at Weybourne early morning and it was even 28C then - see extra of the contrast between the yellow dried grass and the glorious blue sea. I sat out for half an hour in the shade when I got home, then have been inside in the dark for the rest of the day. It has so far reached 30.6C in my lounge and it seems per the forecast that it won't be worth opening my windows until 9pm!!! The only other things I've managed to do is chase up an order, chase up again on my car, watch a film and dig out a very old foot spa for perfect use with cold water!!! My Dyson fan has been invaluable and I used my portable air conditioner for the first time this year to  lower the temp in my bedroom last night. I've had the song (Tropical) Heat Wave going round in my head all afternoon! If nothing else, I hope this shuts up the climate emergency deniers and makes more people actually take personal action to lower their carbon footprint. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.