Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

The River Wye

With temperatures predicted to be hotter than yesterday, we dropped a car at Monmouth Rowing Club (South Wales, UK) to canoe about 8 miles along the River Wye from Whitchurch, Ross on Wye, starting at 11am.

I do all the work whilst Mrs BB sits infront and enjoys the scenery! She did get out and swam the last 1.25 miles to the finish where I had got out to cool down in the water. The river is disgusting this year with miles of green blanket weed that not only looks unsightly but is dangerous and the water a health hazard. I understand Welsh Water have been dumping excess sewerage from their stations much more than the legal limit they are allowed. Why the Environment & Rivers Agency aren't doing anything is a puzzle. The river is an SSI and there have been complaints making local news.

The photo' is of a shaded area on the river where I really liked the fab reflections. It was nice to get out of the sun (I was wearing my legionnaire hat) as I'd have burned with the sun on my neck for the three hours of canoeing.

Mrs BB is taking me out for a meal this evening for all the hard work!

W-I-D-E on Wednesday Challenge

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.