Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Hot stuff

It's a bit warm out there; but then, you all know that, at least if you're anywhere in Europe.  Apparently it was the hottest day on record and the first time a temperature over 40C has ever been recorded in the UK; we managed a high of 38.7C in the shade and 29.2C inside.  Apart from me going for the newspaper first thing and W taking a quick trip to the library we've stayed in a darkened house all day trying to keep cool, occasionally attacking this stuff for 'medicinal' purposes.

At 5.30pm we decided to drive over to Sheringham and have a dip in the sea.  Whilst I've often swum in the Mediterranean I think today was the first time I've been fully immersed in the North Sea since 1982 at Tynemouth, and it was lovely; very cooling!  The rather odd thing was that after we got back to the car I had a text from my mobile phone provider saying it looked like I'd left the EU and advising me of the 'roaming' charges that would apply.  Now, I know I swam about 50 yards offshore but I hadn't realised that constituted leaving Europe!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.