Passionflower

Last night was my first night back to work after my holiday. Coincidentally it was also the hottest night of the year - or  ever - for UK! I walked to work. Along one stretch next to a wall with the sun's relentless direct heat on it, I felt as hot as if I was next to the kebab machines at their highest setting. When I turned the corner at the end of the road I was met with a hair-drier-like blast of breeze into my face. I was glad to arrive at the shop - it was much cooler in there than outside. 

Until the kebabs went on at least! Between customers it was not so bad. We could stay in the back where the door was open and the ceiling fan whirled and drink cold water. When I had to serve I felt like I was melting - probably looked like it too. I'm not sure how customers feel about being served by someone who is dripping, but as far as I know, no facial anti-perspirant exists. If it bothers them that much they can stay home and drip in their own kitchen whilst cooking their own tea.

At the end of the night the shop was invaded by a squadron of small flying insects. They were the size of regular non-flying ants but could fly. They also either bit or stung as one got me on the side of my neck. It was sharper in the first instance than last weeks' deer  fly bite and has left a mark. Another landed on my hand and as I went to flick it away I noticed that it was striped like a wasp. I have never seen insects like it before!

Today feels just right, like a normal summer day in UK. We have yet to get the forecast rain though we did get a very slight drizzle as I left work last night. I've been to visit my Dad. He struggled with the heat of course, but does not seem too bad in himself. He was cursing those bigwigs who attended the climate summit, saying that all their hot air and no action was making things worse!

The photo was taken on the walk to his bungalow from the station. I liked the way the bee was climbing under the stigmas of the flower.

I had to fetch some cheese from M&S on the way home - all Tesco's fridges had packed up on Monday and that was still the case yesterday. (our salad fridge at work has downed tools too!) What I bought probably cost more but at least I can make my traybake for tea!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.