SomethingAwful

By SomethingAwful

Memory Lane

Made a breakthrough on my final phil essay late yesterday night - the very last minute that I could have fully understood Nagel's paradox before my inability to wrap my head around clauses 3 and 4 caused me to fail my degree. Luckily I had already had some Daniel Dennett up my sleeve (thanks to Thom for introducing me to him back in first year) to help me analyse the sh** out of it.

Anyway that was good because I spent today proof-reading and editing all three of the essays that were due tomorrow! In fact, I now know that after taking this picture I was to stay up until 4.30 nitpicking and trying to cut out words to meet the wordcount, sleep for two hours, and then wake up in a daze and carry on editing until the deadline! (Don't know why I slept, actually, would have had more energy if I hadn't...)

Took this on my walk on campus from the SU (buying my grad ball ticket!) to a meeting about exams for my degree... realised how few people on my degree I'm actually friends with (not complaining - I love the friends I have and have never got along really well with the career-in-finance-driven, Oxford-reject attitude that I've seen in some people [not all! Just some]).

This is a path that leads behind the SU and towards some of the campus residences. Where Bruschetta Society used to meet every Monday and Thursday! Makes me smile every time I pass it.

Been really getting into Taylor Swift lately (and of course Scarlett and Gunnar from Nashville). Loving '22', 'Holy Ground' and 'Red'. That woman is actually amazing. Such a talented songwriter. I think I wasn't into her because I didn't think she was my kinda thing but I just think she writes great, catchy songs! Guess I've given in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.