Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Precious Fruit

Although not my finest photo, I like this for today because it represents the beginning of the pre-migratory generation of Monarch Butterflies in my garden.  This is the third female I've seen ovipositing on my milkweed in the last week; and I have already found a half dozen tiny, first instar caterpillars.  I'm sure there are many more that are just invisible to my prying eyes.  Up to this point, all the eggs I've found have been on my Swamp Milkweed but this female showed a strong preference for the butterfly milkweed.  Most seem to be ignoring the common milkweed which is, frankly, past its prime now.  

Anticipating the heat wave this week, we cancelled Jax's daycare date and happy that we did since the temp is a wet, sticky 93F (RealFeel is 104F).  I have no room to complain as I have the good fortune to live in an air conditioned house and this isn't record breaking heat for us.  Nothing like what my friends across the great pond are going through.  My wish for all of you is to stay safe!  

Because it was really too hot to spend more than 15 minutes or so outside, I dedicated myself to some overdue housework.  Swept, mopped, dusted, changed sheets in the guest rooms.  My besties are coming out this weekend for a big birthday celebration for Kura and Ellen.  Tomorrow, in between Yoga and a doctor's appointment I will make a run to the grocery store, butcher and maybe one of the local farms.  Sadly, I will also be returning the rental Nikon Z6ii tomorrow.  It's been fun trying it out and I'll render a full report tomorrow.

Finished off the dark with lemon, ginger and black pepper today.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.