Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Orange and Gold

Some very therapeutic time spent in the garden today, deadheading some plants, taking some photos, losing myself in the moments.  I spotted this beautiful bumble bee and immediately knew it wasn't one I'd seen before.  A quick bit of research confirmed that it was what I hoped - an Orange Belted Bumble Bee (Bombus ternarius).  This is the fourth species of bumble bee I've had in my garden this year, in addition to all the other smaller bees (halictids, megachilidae, and so on).  I have a large patch of swamp milkweed and it is definitely a huge attractant for bees and wasps.  

Hubs and his sister went to Virginia's care home today to clean out her room.  These are, of course, the things you do when someone is gone.  And in some ways, these activities bring some peace - in others, they enforce the sense of loss.  Tomorrow we will lay her to rest.  

Virginia Fargnoli was born on June 2, 1929, the third child of Italian immigrants.  She had an older half brother, who she adored, and an older sister, whom she also adored.  It was a time when immigrants from Italy were looked down upon, and my MIL and her siblings certainly experienced their share of racism while growing up.  Her parents spoke Italian at home but pushed their children to speak English, no doubt in some part so that they'd "blend in".  Virginia was christened Amalia, which I have always thought was an absolutely beautiful name.  But children at school made fun of her name and she eventually changed it, keeping Amalia for her middle name.  Although she was the younger sister, I believe she protected her older sister, Rosie.  Virginia grew up tough - she had to.  She barely reached 4 foot 11 inches but what she lacked in stature, she made up for in grit and feistiness.  If anyone insulted her family or her heritage, she'd go toe-to-toe with them, seemingly fearless.  And at the same time, she loved with equal fierceness.  More tomorrow...

And I had something dark today.  Felt like I needed it.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.