Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Nature's Gifts

I was soaking in some nature in the garden today when I caught a fluttering out of the corner of my eye and discovered this small butterfly.  It's not a common species this far north in New Jersey and it's not one I've ever seen in my yard (in truth, I've probably only seen this species twice ever).  A Variegated Fritillary (Euptoieta Claudia), noticeably smaller than the Great Spangled Frits that I commonly see.  It felt like a special gift from nature on this day when the world seemed just a bit less bright.

Hubs and I went to the Funeral Home this morning to finalize arrangements for Virginia's funeral.  My husband wrote a wonderful, humorous and touching obituary for her - one I know she would have liked very much.  If you'd like to read it, please click HERE - it will make you smile I think.  

We were talking this morning about how fortunate we've been with in-laws.  Not only do we both really like our in-laws, but they liked each other.  In years gone by, we spent Christmases together with both sets of parents, something many couples don't get to do.  I remember one summer when my parents were here and the women (me, my mom, Virginia, and her granddaughter) gathered in the kitchen and made home-made ravioli.There was flour and filling everywhere and so much laughter - and the raviolis were delicious.   I don't ever remember a family gathering where there wasn't an abundance of laughter, much of it triggered by Virginia's stories.  Even as her memory declined, she never lost the desire and ability to make people laugh.  She was, at times, wildly inappropriate  and that just made us all laugh harder, which she loved.  I think she loved shocking people who expected some sort of demure little Italian woman.  Sorry, rambling a bit.  

Give someone you love a big hug today.  And definitely take a moment to be mischievous with someone today.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.