Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

On Gossamer Wings

The clearwing moths have arrived late this year, but no less welcome.  And especially today.

My beloved mother-in-law passed away early this afternoon.  It was very peaceful and her son, my husband was with her at the end.  His daughter and I arrived shortly after.  She was such a force of nature for so many years - it's hard reconciling her passing.  We take a lot of comfort in knowing how much she was loved by the people who have cared for her these past years - there was a steady stream of people coming in to say their goodbyes, to share a memory, a tear, a prayer, a hug.

I know that some women don't get on with their mother-in-law, but I have always felt fortunate to have her in my life.  She and I genuinely liked each other and I was glad to have her as a friend as well as an in-law.  Even though dementia took some pieces of her away in recent years, she never lost her sense of humor, never tired of teasing people and making them laugh.  And she never stopped fiercely loving her children.  I will share some memories of her over the next few days.  For now, I am going to take a deep breath and exhale.

And thank you again for ... everything.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.