Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

All shiny and green

Still having fun playing with the Z6ii.  I had to dodge rain today, including a couple of really major downpours, so it was good that I was staying close to home.  And of course, I didn't think to put my camera out in the garage before I went out the first time so then had to wait about 30 minutes for my gear to de-fog.  I know better - I just wasn't thinking.

I had a nice break mid-day to meet a friend or lunch.  We hadn't seen each other since last year so it was really good to catch up.  And she has three championship dogs so we had a lot of good discussion about training and general dog stuff.  Knowing that all her dogs are multiple blue ribbon winners, it made me feel much better when she described some of the mischief they get into.  I came away feeling like a much better dog mom than I felt this morning.

Today's photo is a tiny Agapostemon/Metallic Green Sweat Bee in the Halicticae family.  They are common here in the summer although I've not seen as many as usual yet.  I expect once all the mountain mint in the pollinator garden starts blooming, their numbers will grow quickly.  This little one was busy freshening up on the small petal of a Black-eyed Susan in the garden.  I took this with the Nikon 105 with raynox150 attached.  Still getting the hang of the narrow DOF with the raynox, but liking the detail.  

Jax has been a good boy today.  He sounded the alarm to alert us to a doe crossing the Lane (but has mostly been pretty chilled out).  This is about the time of day when he gets jacked up and wants to play so I may get a stuffed toy out for him to destroy.  

Our power just went out, so hope they get us restored soon.  It's going to be in the 90's the next few days so definitely want our AC up and running!

Dark with ginger, lemon and cracked black pepper today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.