Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Sequins

I was up before sunrise this morning (the curse/blessing of insomnia) so decided to have my tea on the deck and watch nature wake up.  When I first went out, the birds were still waking up - the catbirds were chatting from their nests while the haunting song of the wood thrush floated from the edge of the woods.  The bees were still asleep on their flower beds and the air was still.  And then...a whir of wings and the first hummers zoomed in to get their morning tea.  Followed quickly by the chipping of the northern cardinals with their youngsters.  I'm lucky to live where I do right now where I can simply go out on my back deck to enjoy all the sights and sounds of nature.

The hummingbird numbers are (finally) starting to increase a bit more.  Today, there were two males chasing each other around as well as several females and youngsters.  Lots of angry chirping and whirring of wings as feeders were being rigorously defended.  

P-Hummie, featured here, is practicing for the opening ceremonies of the AOG (23 July - get your alternative athletes ready - details HERE!)  The official line up for the opening ceremonies is a closely guarded secret, but I can divulge that Team Hummie will definitely be flying into the Pollinator Arena carrying their AOG flags.  Yes, you read it here first.  And, if you promise not to tell, I have it on good authority that Team Hummie will also be making a featured appearance at the Gainesville Arena (thanks to Gaia's Child for her excellent pre-game coverage!)

After my enjoyable start to the day, I followed it with a nice long chat with my parents.  Everyone in good spirits and enjoying finally being able to visit with vaccinated friends.  We talked a bit about the Delta variant and how it is affecting those who aren't vaccinated.  Makes me very glad that all the people closest to my heart are vaccinated.  Almost all of the hospitalizations in the US are among unvaccinated populations.  

Today's chocolate was dark with citrus.  

Keep safe and if you aren't yet vaccinated, please consider it.  

xo
Debbi

Two more shots of Team Hummie:
In the youth division
Attila the Hummie (P-Hummie's nemesis)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.