Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Things go Badly

It is the mating season for many butterflies, including the ubiquitous Cabbage White (an introduced species to the USA).  Males flutter around females with the hope of enticing one to ...well, you know.  Sometimes it works as in this shot I took yesterday of a happy couple.  But sometimes, the male is rebuffed in a most definite manner.

The female, seen here on the right, raises her abdomen as a way of saying "I'm just not that into you, dude."  Rebuffed, the male slinks flutters off to regroup and try again. It's an awful lot like the mating rituals of humans in a singles bar (except for the raised abdomen, of course).  Anyhoo, not a great picture since he is overexposed and not focused, but interesting behavior.

It is blazingly hot today - mid 90's, high humidity and a cloudless sky.  Which explains why I opted not to spend much time outside. Instead, I caught up on some things around here, had a nice long chat with bestie, Peg, and generally goofed off.  

I also had a message exchange with Hillyblips and Osuzanna this morning as we compared notes on "re-entering" life post-lockdown.  All agreed that going into lockdown was much easier than trying to navigate as we start re-opening.  I think everyone has their own threshold for what feels "safe" and what doesn't.  I am definitely proceeding with a great deal of caution.  And people who are going full steam ahead make me nervous and uncomfortable.  

So, stay safe, be kind, be loving.  Move at your own pace.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.