Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Rescue Cat

Imagine my surprise when, after watering one of my milkweed patches, I spotted this large fifth instar monarch caterpillar on one of the plants!  Now, keep in mind, I have been inspecting the plants almost daily for the last week and a half since I found the original four tiny cats.  Somehow, I must missed this one.  Well, after less than a second of debating with myself, I snapped his leaf off and whisked him off to the nursery where he joins the other four.  

I don't usually take in the cats when they are this large as they are much more likely to have been parasitized by tachinid flies at this size.  However, it's worth the chance this year, I think.  He is about the same size as the largest of the four cats I found earlier so probably from the same female.  

The day started with a nice long talk with my parents.  They are continuing to find walks nearly daily all the while avoiding crowds of any size.  It is a difficult way to live for all of us, but so much better than the alternative of potentially catching this virus.  

After we chatted with mom and dad, we both went out to try to get a few things done in the garden.  It was so stinking hot and humid that I lasted about 45 minutes before retiring to the air conditioned house.  This combination of heat and humidity also wreaks havoc with my sinuses so I ended up taking a nap this afternoon just to dodge the sinus headache.  

Bird feeders are quiet today - even the birds are too hot to do much.  Bird baths all topped off.

Be safe out there people.  And continue to be kind and loving.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.