Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Garden-fresh Eggs!

It was another hot and humid day that left one longing for a cloud or a breeze or really anything to block the oppressive heat.  But while humans may not tolerate heat that well, butterflies love it.  And this human's heart took a happy leap when I spotted a female Monarch Butterfly leaving eggs on my milkweed.  I quickly followed her around, plucking leaves that she'd left eggs on and putting them in the Nursery 2, safe from predators.  In all, I gathered 5 eggs.  I'm sure there are more, but I will check again tomorrow when it is a bit less hot and humid.

Meanwhile, my rescue cat from yesterday started his walkabout last night and this afternoon spun his silk patch on the "roof" of the nursery from which he will j-hang before changing into a chrysalis.  #1 Cat changed this morning. Three more big fat cats eating in Nursery 1. 

Big day as I met a friend for lunch.  It's been months since I've seen her (first my broken foot, then flu, then Covid-shutdown) so it was really lovely to get caught up.  We ate in an outdoor cafe where tables were spaced very far apart and servers were all gloved and masked.  It felt quite safe, actually.  And, of course, the infection rate in my little part of New Jersey is very low now, under 3% so that helps.  

I heard that Trump is going to start doing his daily Coronavirus briefings campaign rallies this week.  I won't be watching.  I will continue to watch the governors of NY and NJ when they do their briefings because they deal in facts, rather than self-congratulatory BS.  

Tomorrow is TinyTuesday - tag #tt269.  I am prepared to be dazzled!

Be kind. Be safe. Be loving.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.