Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Cold shoulder

That is what this handsome Twelve-spotted Skimmer was giving me.  However, as this is a species that I rarely ever see perched, I seized the moment and got a nice burst of shots.  Sweat trickling down my back as it is hot, hot, hot here in the northeast US today.  

Hubs and I arrived at our campground a little later than expected yesterday, but managed to get all the outside stuff hooked up before the sun was totally gone.  While Hubs sweated and swore with tubes, hoses, etc outside, I prepared martinis and dinner in the comfort of the air conditioned inside of the motorhome.  We lingered over dinner and then headed to bed where we both slept soundly.

The campground we are at is old could do with some maintenance, but the surroundings are beautiful.  All the sites are wooded and the first thing I heard upon opening the door this morning were the sounds of birds singing from all around me.  Add to that a pond and several streams teaming with dragonflies...well, I'm happy.  We've had a very relaxing day - which we both needed.

Meanwhile at home, SIL is dealing with air con problems with the brand new unit we just had installed upstairs recently.  We called the installer before we left and they had someone out last night to see if it could be fixed.  He thought he had it, but SIL said it was still very warm upstairs today, so she has called the installer and requested an emergency service call today.  The temps are in the high 90's F, so you can imagine that the second floor is very hot.  SIL will either sleep in the living room (the downstairs air con is fine) or stay with friends, and the cats will be find with food and water.  And if it isn't fixed when we get back tomorrow, we will just plug the rv into the house electricity and sleep in it tomorrow night.  Why isn't anything ever easy???

Had a hilarious phone call with my parents this morning.  I won't go into all of it but suffice it to say we still have MUCH to learn about this great big wonderful RV we now own.  

Cheers.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.