Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Lady Slaty Skimmer

It is hard to believe that there was ever a time when I was afraid of dragons.  My heart still skips a beat when I see one, but now it's from joy rather than fear.  And this beautiful female Slaty Skimmer was in my pollinator garden when we pulled the RV into it's spot this afternoon.  I quickly grabbed my camera and got a few shots off before helping Hubs unload the coach.  If it weren't so blasted hot out (still in the high 90's with humidity on a par with Florida), I'd be out in the pollinator garden now, stalking things.  But instead I am inside enjoying the air con.

And if you'l like to see what the male Slaty Skimmer looks like, click HERE to see a shot from yesterday.

We had such a good weekend.  As I mentioned, the campground was a bit run down, but it was so blissfully quiet and surrounded by nature.  And since it was so stinking hot out, Hubs and I just enjoyed a day and a half of lazing around doing... nothing.  When do you ever do that as an adult?  

Happily, the temps are going to drop about 20 degrees tomorrow, so I'll get out and see what's what in the garden. During my fast sortie today, I spotted a lot of monarch caterpillars, including two big fifth instars on the Swamp milkweed (click HERE to view on Flickr).

Air con upstairs seems to be working - hallelujah!

xo
Debbi

On depression...one of the things I should mention having depression doesn't always manifest as sadness.  For me, it felt like I was carrying around a great weight all the time, life felt overwhelming and I sometimes felt hopeless.  But not sad.  Strange, isn't it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.