Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

My favorite things...

Raindrops on roses  insects
And whiskers on kittens katydids

Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with strings
These are a few of my favorite things - Julie Andrews (with some license) 1972

When I first picked up a camera again 10 years ago, I didn't do it with any idea of taking photos of insects (of all crazy things).  But, it turns out that arthropods are among my favorite things to photograph.  They are endlessly fascinating and almost always present challenges, which I like.  

Today's insect is a katydid nymph, a little under an inch in length but not yet able to fly (as you can see from his tiny wings).  It lives with some friends in the lily patch which is, unfortunately, right above the Great Golden Digger Wasp colony (who, you may recall, use katydid's as the host for their own larvae - euw).  No wonder he looks a little wary, eh?

A busy day today as I had to take car in for a recall service, then drop matted photos off for a competition, with time out to go to the gym with hubs.  That still allowed for some time to dart out between rain showers and potter around the garden...

xo
Debbi

On depression ... it's taken me a lot of years to get comfortable talking about this.  It's interesting to me how many people are very uncomfortable if you share something personal like this.  I've had some surprising reactions from people I know pretty well.  But that's okay.  Depression doesn't define me, just as the brain tumor didn't define me - it's all just part of the myriad of things that make me... me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.