Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

#37

I was doing some work in the garden today and kept hearing a raspy, high-pitched call, almost like a cedar waxwing...but not quite.  Eventually I saw something tiny and gray flit up into the shadbush tree...and I knew exactly what I'd been hearing - a Blue-gray Gnatcatcher!  I haven't seen one in my yard in a few years so this was a nice find.  I was pretty sure it was a youngster just based on behavior and the photos have confirmed a visible "baby gape" still around the beak.  Anyway, this is my 37th species of yardbird for the year.  

Last week I missed blipping two other year-first yard birds, an Eastern Wood Pewee and a Great Crested Flycatcher - but the bluebirds took priority.  The Pewee is still around so I'm hopeful.  

It is disgustingly hot and humid today so my trips outside have been short.  Even standing still can cause a sweat.  I also opted out of the gym today as I'm still having some issues with a pulled groin muscle.

I had my follow up with the cardiologist today and he was very happy with my recent labs.  My total cholesterol has dropped over 100 points as has my LDL.  He wants a recheck in six months; and if the numbers are consistent he'll reduce the cholesterol meds to the lowest possible dosage of 5 mg.  I'm good with that.  I'll be getting stress tests every year, just to make sure that no blockages are starting - again, I'm okay with that.

And plans are underway for a return trip to Costa Rica next year - very exciting.  

xo
Debbi

On depression...when I finally sought help for increasing depression, it was the hardest appointment I've ever had.  I felt so embarrassed to tell my doctor, even though I knew I had to.  He was wonderful, of course, as any good doctor would be.  But I still sat in my car in the parking lot before I went in, trying to talk myself out of just driving straight out of there and back home.  Glad I took that first step.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.