Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Ascending

I was up early this morning - just couldn't sleep.  The light was slightly filtered by smoke which created a beautiful soft backlight for this hummingbird.  I took this with the 24-120 lens and cropped it.  The lens is now on its way back to the rental company.  I am definitely going to buy this lens although not this week.

This past week, since MIL started to fail, has felt like an eternity.  I think we are all exhausted and slightly numb.  The hospice nurse came in today and gave her a bed bath and washed her hair - I imagine it must be so hard for them sometimes, dealing with the end of life.  Hubs has been with her most of the day and I spent several hours with her this morning.  We don't believe it is going to be much longer, but no one really knows.  She remains comfortable and seems to be in no pain, which is the best we can want at this point.  

My garden provided me with some much needed respite today.  In addition to the hummingbirds, my flowers are abuzz with bees, wasps and other pollinators.  It was such a blessing to be able to lose myself in nature for a few hours.

Thank you for everything - the kind words, the hugs, the prayers.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.