Allan Bank

Our last day in Cumbria so I headed down to Grasmere for a change of scene. A couple of small(ish hills) - Helm Crag and Gibson Knott - and a wander through the beautiful woods around Lancrigg Hotel.

I stopped in Grasmere for a coffee and noticed a sign to Allan Bank, a National Trust property nearby and apparently "the loveliest spot that man hath ever found". I had my NT card in my pocket so decided to explore. So glad I did! This is a National Trust house unlike any other, as the man on the gate told me - there are no great collections of paintings or porcelain here, but a shell of a house in  which visitors are encouraged to enjoy themselves by reading books, playing games, painting pictures or just enjoying the views. There was also an art installation (see photo above) called "A Letter to the Earth from Beatrix" by the Japanese artist Hideyuki Sorbue.

Allan Bank was once home to the Wordswoths and to Canon Rawnsley, one of the founders of the National Trust. It has a wonderful atmosphere and was full of the chatter and laughter of children being encouraged to be creative or to enjoy games in the garden. I stayed for quite a while, browsing the library and secondhand books and enjoying the views over Grasmere, before walking back to my car along a path beside the River Rothay.

It was my turn to cook tonight and I made a sweet potato, red pepper and pea curry, after which we took Jess for a swim in Derwentwater.

I've really enjoyed our week here, but am looking forward to going home and seeing what state the garden is in...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.