The 'Vlietmolen', Lexmond

There was already a windmill on this spot in 1609, but that was not this one or a previous version of this one.  No one knows exactly how old this is.  It burned down at one point, its owner almost killed in the blaze but managed to get out at the last minute.  It was fully restored in 2002, which has been recognized as its year of registration.  In short, according to the books, it is fairly new, but everyone knows it is much older.

It was considerably cooler today!  Last night, or rather this morning, I took a shower at 05.00 and it was only after that that I finally went to bed, and was up again by 09.30.  The heat was intense yesterday.  Today, our doors and windows remained shut to keep it out, but AW rolled back the sunshade, which had been out since the weekend.  The predicted thunderstorm did not materialize, but what is not yet can still arrive, possibly tomorrow.

MOOCking, gaming, hand-washed laundry, kitchen duties.  In the evening, AW fetched Moreau and Red for an evening of cards (not bridge!) at Hennen's place, after which he drove the two men home again.  I did not attend the writers group ZOOM meeting because I was afraid I would fall asleep halfway.  I did mail my revised versions of Chapters 3 to 6.

Thank you for dropping by!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.