Strelizia nicolai

Walked a different block this morning, and found many new sights. A succulent garden, an overgrown alley, a mass of pink Angel's trumpet, and this lovely creature. K and I marveled over it; she badly wanted it to be a kind of banana, but then we agreed it looked more like a bird of paradise. Well, here's what Wiki has to say: commonly known as the wild banana or giant white bird of paradise.  So we were both right. I can't find any reference to it actually producing bananas, which would be highly unusual in this climate anyway.

I felt kinda dozy for a good part of the day, but never managed to fall asleep. I'm itching to be able to walk around the block without a companion and move at my own speed, but I don't think that will happen for awhile. In the meantime, I am grateful for this temperate weather and the warm sunny afternoons in the garden, watching the bees in the lavender and the hummingbirds as they skitter around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.