Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

The New Coat (Part II)

I have just finished Hamish's second coat.  I thought about putting a zipper up the back for easy dressing and undressing, however, when I looked at one of those releasing zippers that I had, I felt it was too bulky and might cause a bit of pressure when he lay down.  In the end I went with Mimas suggestion of velcro.   It seems to be holding although I did put a button at the top.  And therein lies another story.   My machine is old, (35 years plus) and I haven't done a button hole for at least 20 years plus.  The fairies have made off with any manual I had and I couldn't find a manual for it online.  Practice runs on the button hole setting were a disaster. so I did it manually and it is rubbish.  Hey ho.

This one cost me nothing as it is all done from left overs and scraps.  A pity I didn't have some different leftover fleece as he looks a bit like a Santas elf.  I know we are in the second half of the year but it is way too early to be mentioning the C word.

I am heading off to Sydney tomorrow so will most probably be off the air until back in Newy.  Have a good weekend all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.