Woodland Path

With cooler weather and the promise (threat?) of thundery showers I took a trip over to the Devil's Punch Bowl, which legend has it was created by Thor, the god of thunder, who being tormented by the devil grabbed a handful of earth and hurled it at him, leaving the punchbowl-like depression we see today.

I took a slightly different walk than normal, hoping to find the viewpoint marked on the OS map overlooking the entrance to the Hindhead Tunnel which was opened in 2011 to divert the A3 London to Portsmouth road away from its bottleneck route around the punchbowl and through Hindhead.  The path marked on the map, which I attempted from both directions, disappeared into the undergrowth. Either my map reading skills are deficient (quite likely), my GPS signal was wrong (even more likely) or the route no longer exists ...at least not in Summer. No matter, I had a lovely walk, and found this path through the trees which I thought would suit BobBlips' Wide Wednesday challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.