Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

School with a View

A promising day weather wise saw me heading to one of my favourite locations, Bosham Harbour when I had a glorious day walking round the creek to Itchen and back before grabbing a late lunch of a delicious pastie which I ate on the hoe. I then spent a couple of hours sketching the boat house before having an ice cream and then heading home.

It was definitely a good end to the day which started badly with my desktop computer randomly rebooting every 10 mins or so … hence the very late posting as I spent most of the next day trying to edit and upload images from this trip. I was suspecting the graphics card, but when my laptop also lost power with the desktop shut down it became clear that the culprit was the smart plug which I used the switch off the computer and associated peripherals … phew that’s a whole heap of money saved for now!

Anyway, back to Bosham, this is the National School (now a private dwelling) overlooking the harbour. These schools, founded in the 19th century, provided elementary education in accordance with the teaching of the Church of England to the children of the poor.  This building was built in 1834 and has a wonderful view … I wonder how distracted it’s pupils were at times!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.