This is the day

By wrencottage

Sunflower surprise

We had a house guest overnight, a friend of the lodger, and she brought these gorgeous sunflowers for us as a gift, so that was today’s blip sorted straight away!

The difference in the weather from the past few days has been huge, and very welcome. At the height of the heatwave our bedroom thermometer was reading an unbearable 31.1°; this evening, after having had the windows wide open to allow a through draught of cooler air, it reads a much more acceptable 25.2°.

It’s been a day of batch cooking (Nutty Joys and lemon cakes) and laundry, interspersed with occasional groans of "ooooh!" every so often when I lifted my left arm. I sometimes suffer from inflammatory/arthritic pain and at the moment I’m experiencing quite a bad spell of it. That, on top of the poor nights’ sleep of late, is making me very tired. I had a short nap in the chair after lunch and am looking forward to an early night. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.