This is the day

By wrencottage

Queen Elizabeth Rose

A busy day today, most of it spent looking after our two youngest granddaughters, who are four and two. Mummy and Daddy were busy getting ready for their holiday in Devon tomorrow, which was a cause of much excitement for our young visitors. 

Unfortunately, the combination of several poor nights’ sleep (owing to the heat), plus having painful joints and arms because of my arthritis flare up, and then having to keep two lively young ladies entertained, means that I am now feeling spaced out with exhaustion and am really struggling to keep my eyes open.  

However, none of that shows in the many photographs I took of the girls today, which I know I will look back on with delight without ever remembering the accompanying tiredness. I just wish I had a better grasp of how to take good photographs of children when they’re constantly on the move! I did a little photo session of the two of them sitting together on a chair, using my 50mm f/1.4 with a fast shutter speed, but really struggled to get both girls’ faces sharp. If anyone has any suggestions for me I’d be very grateful. 

Meanwhile, this is a Queen Elizabeth rose in our back garden, taken after the girls had gone home. I bought one of these rose bushes because it was a favourite of my father-in-law, and I like having things in the garden that remind me of special people, places and events.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.