Thank you for more support than I ever expected for yesterday.


This evening I was taken aback to find myself cycling behind this. I know that Oxford has a thriving 94-year-old Welsh Male Voice Choir, I know that Jesus College at the University is enormously proud to be the 'Welsh College' and I know that the Florence Park area of Oxford has been known in the past as Little Wales. (During the Depression of the 1920s unemployed workers from South Wales, hit hard by a falling demand for Welsh coal, came to Oxford for jobs in the Morris Motors and Pressed Steel factories and many rented houses on the estate then being built by a speculative builder from Merthyr Tydfil.)

But I had no idea that we also had Welsh language buses. What is going on? Has someone decided it's a subtle way to get Oxford citizens more familiar with Welsh? Or is Oxford short of buses and Wales the nearest place with a surplus? It's a long way to bring them. Perhaps there is some covert scheme for moving buses round the UK. I looked up this bus's registration plate and it didn't start off in Wales - it comes from Yorkshire.

All very mysterious. Hypotheses welcome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.