curns' corner

By curns

Dentist

On my morning walk I started listening to Jim Defede’s The Day The World Came To Town which is the story of the 9/11 place landings in Gander, Newfoundland and is story that the musical Come From Away is based on. I’ve only listened to 34 minutes so far. None of the planes have even landed in in Canada and I was in floods of tears on my walk. I don’t know what it is about this story in particular that makes me so emotional: I think it’s something about the very human way people treat and care for each other. 

I feel very tired today. I don’t know why: I guess we walked a long way yesterday but I thought I had slept reasonably well.  I find it quite hard to get motivated when I am this tired so I end up pacing the room, or playing some music (or both), to try and liven myself up. Coffee, of course, appears to help but doesn’t really.

At 7pm I had a dental appointment.  I didn’t realise the surgery opened this late until I made the appointment.  Apart from reception staff, I was the only one in the waiting room so I snapped a picture of the flowers in the window. I thought they looked quite stunning.  £100 lighter and a couple of x-rays (Kelly zap him!) in the bag he declared my teeth were OK and I only need see him once a year (as long as I continue with the hygienist). There wasn't much of an upsell to something that might be nice - like teeth whitening or straightening - but I don’t need. 

In the evening I was scrolling considering booking a flu vaccine and, when using all the major chemist websites, I could only find appointments later in November.  I thought about booking one in Shanklin for when we are on the Isle of Wight but felt a bit guilty using a slot that locals should have.  I was browsing my Doctor’s app to see if they had any appointments and, while they did not, the did link to the pharmacy below the surgery, Medipharmacy, which had appointments tomorrow from 7am. I booked into one just before 10.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.