curns' corner

By curns

Six

This morning I did my usual morning walk in reverse so that I could post an order for some Christmas cards.  People of my age end up on a lot of mailing lists and  a hospice charity near me is always sending mailings for raffles or similar.  Yesterday, we got a catalogue about Christmas cards and I thought I’d order a small box to spur me to send cards earlier this year. 

On my walk I listened to the last chapter in the Audible Original, Bitter Blood: Kasem vs. Kasem. It’s the story of the final years of one of US radios biggest stars. My new found love of audio books and my interest in radio made this a no-brainer for me. Sadly, I didn’t find it that compelling and walked without listening to anything or listening to music some mornings.  I don’t know why because it’s very well put together and a really interesting story but, perhaps because the outcome was obvious throughout, I wasn’t hooked. Perhaps, if it had been produced in fewer episodes it might have felt more compelling.  And Audible’s player doesn’t seem to do these podcasts as well as books which didn’t help because I kept losing where I was up to.

By 7pm, PY and I had taken a seat a Browns and ordered a bottle of wine. A few minutes later Mark & Rob arrived and we had a lovely hour before heading to see Six, the musical about the wives of Henry VIII. It was a sort-of surprise for Mark - although by the time he got to London he knew what he was seeing. 

It’s the third time PY and I have seen it and it remains a brilliant musical that’s pretty different to a lot of other things that are on at the moment.  It started it’s life in London at the much smaller Arts Theatre venue where a packed auditorium makes for quite an electric atmosphere. I wondered if the bigger Vaudeville Theatre would be the same but I think it was. It’s a very modern soundtrack with a modern message and the audience was certainly up for it.

Quite exhilarated after the show we went to Joe Allen’s restaurant for dinner. It was lovely. Coronation Street’s’ Amanda Barrie was at a table in the corner which helped reinforce the ‘theatre’ atmosphere of the place.  Paul and Rob went for the famously-not-on-the-menu burger. I had cod but I also had the sweetcorn and crab soup and the cheese. Diet be blowed.  A lovely evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.